General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Pre-diabetic? How did that happen?! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-03-11 5:56 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Pre-diabetic? How did that happen?!
I have been a lurker on BT for some time but now I have a question I need help with. I just turned 40 and decided it would be a good thing to finally establish a relationship with a primary care physician and have a full checkup. I had blood work done and got my results today. I was shocked to hear that i was pre-diabetic!! I have NEVER been overweight. I am 5'4" tall and 123 lbs. The most I ever weighed was 130 lbs. I work out 6 days a week. Spin, total body conditioning, yoga, running, x-fit. I've been doing sprint tris for a few years and do a few 5k's a year. My diet is healthier than anyone I know. I haven't had a regular soda in over 20 years, I don't eat much candy or desserts... I look at the sugar content in every yogurt I buy! She told me that in my case it is genetic. I certainly don't want to become diabetic. I am not sure what else I can do to prevent it. Any others in this situation?

2013-03-11 6:16 PM
in reply to: #4655723

User image

Master
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Pre-diabetic? How did that happen?!
An option for you is to join us in the ketosis thread in nutritional cafe. You may be so carb sensitive that ketosis is what you need. One of the most severely diabetic type two people I know is thin as a rail. It does happen. Grains will spike your blood sugar and stimulate insulin response even wuicker than sugar itself. And that means so called heart healthy whole grains too.

Check us out, and the low carb community online. You may find some things that make sense.

2013-03-11 6:35 PM

User image

Queen BTich

If you already stay away from sugars, x2 on the suggestion to stay away from the grains. ^^^

Bummer, sorry about the news.

2013-03-11 7:22 PM

User image

Champion
Evergreen, Colorado