General Discussion Triathlon Talk » anyone use toe clips on their pedals Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-06-30 5:32 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Dorset
Subject: anyone use toe clips on their pedals
i am a newbie, and can't really invest in pedals/cleats/choes combo so was wondering if i could improve my cycling efficiency, and ability to keep my feet in place by using toe clips of some sort so i can just use my trainners. has anyone had experience with these or anything similar, i remember seeing foot plates or something mentioned a while back

any advice would be very much welcomed

2004-06-30 6:01 AM
in reply to: #34465

User image

utah
Subject: RE: anyone use toe clips on their pedals

i use toe clips/cages on my bike.  they are great and not so great.  i can usually easily get in and out of them though if the shoes that i am wearing are wide then i sometimes have a bit of trouble.  And once in a while i forget that i have to take them out before i stop...LOL. the best part about them is they came with the bike so i didn't have to buy them.  i don't think that it would be easy to take them on and off though either if you need to change out of them often.  just my opinion

I am hoping to get a pair of clipless and cleats soon.  i think i'm going to go with spd so that i don't have to change from cleats to reg. shoes as i ride to work a lot.  though i suppose i'll have to see as i usually run at lunch so i'd have to change to running shoes.  Hmm sounds like i need a cabinet just for all my training stuff-- LOL.

good luck

2004-06-30 6:11 AM

User image

Expert
Colchester, CT
I've got straps that fit around my pedals that I can slip my feet into and out of relatively easy. I just got them a few weeks ago and am still getting adjusted to them. I couldn't justify upgrading to clippless pedals and shoes especially if I decide to get a new (and better) bike next year. So I figured this was a cheap compromise for now
2004-06-30 6:23 AM