General Discussion Triathlon Talk » heel-2-toe-drop measurement.... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-03-28 2:36 PM

User image

Kansas City, Missouri
Subject: heel-2-toe-drop measurement....

How is is measured??? any method to do this at home???

My issue is I have a pair or Pearl Izumi EM Road N2s.... on runningwarehouse (which I love) they have the drop at +11 and the measurements @(Heel 27mm, Forefoot 16mm). But on the Pearl Izumi site... they state its only a "low 4mm drop"....

It feels like their is a huge drop (which I like). Any BT'ers ever notice or have this these issue?? I love the shoe and it feels great, but am looking for solid consistant measurements.

2013-03-29 6:57 AM
in reply to: #4678263

User image

Regular
Arlington, VA
Subject: RE: heel-2-toe-drop measurement....

Note: I am not an expert, but I have been looking around. If I'm wrong, someone please correct me.

Unless you have some very specifically shaped calipers, I think this is fairly hard to measure once the shoe  has been put together. The drop measures the difference in the center of the heel to area under the ball of the feet. Insole, midsole, and sole all together. I don't know the shoe you're talking about, but just looking at pictures on running warehouse, I find it very hard to believe their measurements. It looks like a relatively low drop shoe and 11mm would be pretty large. 

For subjective reference: Look at the Brooks shoes, Pure Project vs "Standard". The Pure line is 4mm and the others are around 12mm. To me, this Pearl shoe 'looks' more like the pure line.

Its also hard not to trust anyone over the manufacturer on shoe measurements.

2013-03-29 2:51 PM
in reply to: #4678897

User image

Kansas City, Missouri

Thanks for the input, what you stated makes perfect sense.