General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie Workout regime Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-03-31 9:13 PM

New user

Crosby, Texas
Subject: Newbie Workout regime

Hello everyone,

My name is Gabriel and I am a first-timer. I will be attending my first triathlon on April 27 in Kemah, Tx. It is a sprint distance triathlon. I know that you do not know anything about my body type so giving specifics is not realisitic. I am only asking for guidelines... I am able to do a 5k in 33 minutes but for the other two I am not sure because I just started training for those. Which beings up my questions. I am out of shape and was wondering if I should be including strength training or focus all of my focus on the three sports?

2013-04-01 7:34 AM
in reply to: #4681253

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cypress, TX
Subject: RE: Newbie Workout regime

Focus your efforts on swimming, biking, and running.

Strength training can do the following:

- Help improve "overall" health/fitness

- Help with muscle imbalances

- Can aid in injury prevention

What strength training won't do:

- Make you a better swimmer

- Make you a better cyclist

- Make you a better runner

It's the principle of specificity which in very simple terms states that in order to get better at something you need to do that something.  There is no substitute for a discipline that is better than the discipline itself.  Meaning strength training won't improve your swimming more than actually swimming or it won't improve your cycling more than actually cycling or it won't improve your running more than actually running.

In summary: swimming, cycling and running make you a better swimmer, cyclist and runner. Cool

2013-04-03 2:04 PM

New user

Crosby, Texas