hevents
20C / 68F
Sunny
Total Time = 8h 30m
Overall Rank = 1047/1539
Age Group = 40-49
Age Group Rank = 114/204
Pre-race routine:

Tried to get all the family into the car, it was end of daylight saving the night before, but I had been up all night due a 3yo with high temps. So I dragged myself out of bed, whinged and complain a bit, then just got ready to get on with it.
I did have cereal for breakfast.
Event warmup:

Walked around a bit at the start, did a few stretches and gentle waking up.
Run
  • 1h 06m 25s
  • 10 kms
  • 06m 38s  min/km
Comments:

My goal was to run the entire distance without stopping, which I have never done before and to largely ignore my heart rate. I wanted to learn how to pace myself on feeling. From the beginning I started with a steady pace, up the hill as I did not want to have nothing left by the time I got to the last few KMs. I recalled from the last year I did the event that lots of people charge up the hill and end up completely spent at the end of it. I wanted to maintain a good pace, and ensure that I did not jar my body on the way down the hills.
I did manage to do this very well, and did not need to shuffle at all...just kept plodding.
It was interesting watching other people pass me with a great rate of knots and then pull up and walk 50m down the road. I stuck to my own pace, no pressure on myself about the time and kept thinking to myself about the Hare and the Tortoise (I wore a Turtle Shirt.
In the end I was feeling pretty tired, but still ran down the finishing chute and passed about 4 people.
I felt great...a sense of acheivement with an obstacle being achieved. I could run non-stop for over an hour!
What would you do differently?:

Nothing, I just need a HRM that has GPS so I know the distance I have to go. This would help me with pacing.

Post race
Warm down:

Walk around the ground, stretches

What limited your ability to perform faster: