General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Hi and already asking Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-04-17 4:51 PM

User image

Subject: Hi and already asking

Hiya,

I've been 'lurking' BT for a while now and have found loads of very useful info here. I'm new to this tri business and would really appreciate some help and opinions.

My objective for this year was to complete an Olympic distance tri but I'm not sure it's possible or if I have enough time to train for it. I don't have a goal time and would be happy just to finish but I'm wondering if aiming for it this year is jumping ahead of myself too much. (also I wouldn't mind being second last, but def not last, everyone waiting for me...)

A bit of background: I lost quite a bit of weight through running and always have a race in site to have something to work towards. I have done a number of 10ks, a couple of half marathons and 3 marathons (2 of those last year). I'm not a fast runner, quite the opposite, my fastest 10k (mid March past) was 59:40. I'm an ok swimmer and have been going to the swim sessions of my tri club, which usually lasts 1:15/1:30 and in total we swim around 2300m including drills etc. I would usually go for a short 2 or 3 mile run after the swim as well. My BIG issue is the bike as it's the new element... On the spin bike I can do 20k in 35min, outside it's more like 50-55min...

I have entered a sprint tri at the beginning of May (3 weeks time) and was already looking to register for other races for the rest of the season. I def want to do another sprint tri in the middle of July but was wondering if I could be prepared for an Olympic distance tri at the beginning of August. What do you think?

TIA

2013-04-17 4:56 PM
in reply to: #4704630

User image

Sensei
Sin City
Subject: RE: Hi and already asking

First of all, welcome!