General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Esprit de She Naperville Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-04-26 4:02 PM

Subject: Esprit de She Naperville

This is my first time doing this tri and I am wondering if you need a wetsuit for this race.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

2013-04-27 9:21 AM
in reply to: #4716714

User image

Aurora , Illinois
Subject: RE: Esprit de She Naperville
My wife did it last year and It wasn't wetsuit legal.  I swim at centenial beach all the time and for the most part think a wetsuit is not necessary.  Just my 2 cents.
2013-04-29 8:32 PM
in reply to: #4716714

User image

Chicago

I've done that race many times and have never worn a wetsuit there.  However, one year, the organizers suggested that everyone wear one because the water was very cold.  Given our very chilly spring so far, it could be cold this year.  The wetsuit is really your choice as I doubt it would ever be required for a race like Naperville - that water just isn't going to get cold enough to require a wetsuit. 

If you do decide to get a wetsuit, be sure to try it on before purchasing.  They are meant to be tight, but not suffocating.  There really is no one "best" wetsuit - it is very much an individual thing.

Best of luck to you in Naperville!

MJ Gasik

2013-05-24 1:34 PM
in reply to: finetuned

I'm also doing Esprit de She... have you made a decision or heard anything further about wearing a wetsuit? I have to rent one and I keep waiting because I don't want to waste the money!
2013-05-24 2:23 PM
in reply to: blosika

User image

Champion
Whizzzzzlandia
Silver member

Originally posted by blosika I'm also doing Esprit de She... have you made a decision or heard anything further about wearing a wetsuit? I have to rent one and I keep waiting because I don't want to waste the money!