Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2013-05-06 10:48 AM

User image

Pro
Omaha, NE
Subject: Internet Sales Tax Bill

Senate to vote on proposed Internet sales tax law

I'm a little surprised this hasn't come up on here yet. 

I personally have mixed opinions on this because I am as guilty as anyone else in using the internet to buy cheap stuff and the lack of sales tax does make it even cheaper.  However, I don't really think it's a fair system and it ultimately hurts local retailers so I'm not necessarily opposed to this on the surface as a consumer.  Plus the tax dollars would go to my state and not Washington. 

Now, as a business owner I'm a little curious how this would effect me.  I sell a fair amount of stuff out of state and I have no clue what the various sales tax rates are from city to city in different states.  So, I can see this as a new administrative hassle for my controller. 

I don't necessarily see this as a "new tax" or "raising taxes".  I think of it as more of a patching up a loophole.  However, I guess if the net effect results in me paying several hundreds of dollars in additional taxes at the end of the year then it is a new tax.  ;-)

What do you guys think?  Good, bad, meh?

2013-05-06 10:56 AM
in reply to: #4729238

User image

Champion
Southern Chicago Suburbs, IL
Subject: RE: Internet Sales Tax Bill
tuwood - 2013-05-06 10:48 AM

I personally have mixed opinions on this because I am as guilty as anyone else in using the internet to buy cheap stuff and the lack of sales tax does make it even cheaper.  However, I don't really think it's a fair system and it ultimately hurts local retailers so I'm not necessarily opposed to this on the surface as a consumer.  Plus the tax dollars would go to my state and not Washington.