General Discussion Race Reports! » Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend 2013 - 10K (long) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

-

View Member's Race Log
Total Time = 00m
Overall Rank = /
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = /
Post race

Last updated:
Post race
Weight change: %
Overall:
Mental exertion [1-5]
Physical exertion [1-5]
Good race?
Evaluation
Course challenge
Organized?
Events on-time?
Lots of volunteers?
Plenty of drinks?
Post race activities:
Race evaluation [1-5]

{postbutton}
2013-05-27 10:52 AM

Regular
Ottawa, ON
Subject: Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend 2013 - 10K (long)
I did an amazing race this weekend and wanted to share my experience. I don’t post much as I am still very new to the sport but I just wanted to say thank you to the guru out there. I have learned so much by you guys answering and sharing your knowledge. For that I am greatly grateful. So here it is:

Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend 2013

Pre-Race:
Saturday was for the 2k (3pm), 5k (5pm) and 10k (6:30pm) races. Half and marathon was held on Sunday. Mom in-law and a few cousins were racing the 2k, my wife was doing the 5k and I was doing the 10k.

We left the house at 2pm hauling our 3 kids (1, 4 and 5 years old) along with my mom to go spectate and cheer the runners. It was awesome to see all the runners from all generations. The only regret I had was that I did not register my oldest because she kept on asking to go out there and run with everyone. Lesson learned; register the whole family for the 2k race next year.

After the 2k race, it was my wife’s turn to run her 5k. She left to go to the start line but we stayed put as we had a prime location at 200m from the finish. Fed the kids and let them play around while waiting. At about 32 minutes she came in and the kids were so excited to be able to cheer mom from the side lines. She looked good and was still smiling so I knew she had a good race.