General Discussion Triathlon Talk » BT Confession: Today I was "That guy" Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-06-01 4:20 PM

User image

Expert
Bradenton, Florida
Subject: BT Confession: Today I was "That guy"
Things at work are finally settling down and I had last night off so I decided to join my local shop ride this morning. I have ridden with them in the past but its been awhile. Several of the guys I ride with on Monday nights were also there so it wasn't like I was a complete newb. However, by the end of the ride I had firmly cemented my place as "that guy." It started a mile into the ride when we came to the first and biggest bridge. Normally I get dropped EVERY time I go over a bridge, and I mean EVERY time, even on solo rides, so I get to the front, push hard on the approach to build up some speed then wait to be run down... it never happened! So I wait for the group, settle in about 7 or 8 back from the front and just enjoy the draft. We're rolling along at 22-23 mph, maybe 8 miles into the ride when out of nowhere the 4 guys in front of me all sit up and drop to 19-20 mph. I went around them and caught up to the lead pack. Now we're moving 24+ mph, and as the leaders rotate out, I take my turn at which point the ride leader pulls up along side of me to let me know that I'm going too fast. I back it down to 22 mph and keep it there until... one of the guys that sat up earlier, pulls along side of me to let me know that I need to rotate out so others can pull. I drop to the back thinking everyone here is thinking "what a tool, typical triathlete." So for that, BT I am sorry, I did not mean to perpetuate the stereotype, what must I do to atone for my mistakes?

2013-06-01 4:37 PM
in reply to: cwpeters

SE Texas
Subject: RE: BT Confession: Today I was "That guy"
Lol congrats. Keep it up .
2013-06-01 4:59 PM

User image

Master
Morse Lake, Noblesville, Indiana
Great backdoor brag, well worth a congrats...
2013-06-01 5:00 PM