General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Hydration paks. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-04 10:39 AM

User image

Expert
Wendell, NC
Subject: Hydration paks.
I've been using Camelbaks for a few years but have chaffing issues on longer runs. Also need some supply/nutrition carry space. Any suggestions on comfy adequate hydro packs for long distance? I usually consume a 70oz bladder on a 2hr run. Thanks again for helping the newb.

2013-06-04 11:00 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Queen BTich
Subject: RE: Hydration paks.

I use the UltrAspire Surge. I *LOVE* it. Doesn't not jostle, weight sits higher on the back and there is NO strain on my shoulders. I had 3 or 4 friends buy it as well after I recommended it and they love it too. I really think the 2 chest straps, lines of the front pouches and side adjustments make it fit so well.

It has 2 pouches in the front, with another front compartment (so, 2 plus a small 3rd), a top zipper pouch and then the compartment for the water, then another outside compartment that's not fully closed. I shove things down there, like this weekend a Vapur water bottle & baby wipes and it never fell out.

Unfortunately, like shoes, everyone has to try different ones, but I won't be trying another brand for a long time. If I need a bigger pack, I'll buy another one of theirs. That said, I've worn this for 50m without comfort issue. I haven't done training runs where I need a bigger pack yet, but it's always carried more than enough water for me between aid stations. I know I could easily do several hours without refilling it.

http://www.ultraspirestore.com/Surge-Select-Color-SP13-p/ua053xx.htm

2013-06-04 10:50 PM
in reply to: La Tortuga

User image

Regular
Pueblo, Colorado