General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri bike comfort? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-16 6:05 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Tri bike comfort?
I currently have a Cervelo P3 that I bought last year. I have had it fitted, but am still having trouble riding for long distances. Any ride over 20 miles and I am miserable. I can go for 60+ on my road bike and feel great. Do I need to suck it up and keep pushing until I get used to it or is there a more comfortable tri bike out there. I am almost 42 years old and enjoy the sport, but find it hard to get motivated to train on the tri bike because of this problem. I am new to the sport, I did a couple of sprints last year and have done one this year so far. I want to train for the longer distances. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2013-06-16 6:13 PM
in reply to: twbewley

User image

Pro
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Tri bike comfort?

Was it fitted by someone experienced with tri bike fits?  What discussion did you have with them at the time regarding your experience level, planned races, priority of comfort vs. aerodynamics, etc?

Where does it hurt?  Back?  Saddle?  Shoulders?  Somewhere else?

2013-06-16 6:15 PM

User image

Either your tri bike still doesn't fit right or you're trying to wear cycling shorts on a tri bike.

I would guess your bike still doesn't fit right. I've done more than a few 6 hour rides and I'm just beat, not painful.

I have found that tri shorts on a tri bike and bike shorts on a road bike are definitely the way to go.

2013-06-16 6:35 PM
in reply to: DanielG

User image

Pro
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania

Originally posted by DanielG Either your tri bike still doesn't fit right or you're trying to wear cycling shorts on a tri bike. I would guess your bike still doesn't fit right. I've done more than a few 6 hour rides and I'm just beat, not painful. I have found that tri shorts on a tri bike and bike shorts on a road bike are definitely the way to go.