General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Open Water (Ocean) Swimmimg Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-24 9:21 AM

User image

Lexington, Kentucky
Subject: Open Water (Ocean) Swimmimg Question
I am on vacation this week and have the opportunity to do some open water ocean swimming. I've completed both a half and full mile in the past two days but am thinking I'm timing it wrong as I've hit it at high tide both mornings.

This being said, when is the best time to swim in the ocean? My mile today beat me to death. Any tips would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time swimming in open water.

Thanks!!

2013-06-24 10:01 PM
in reply to: toadbra

User image

Regular
Costa Mesa
Subject: RE: Open Water (Ocean) Swimmimg Question
Most of us swim in open water when we have time, not necessarily due to best time for a tide. Your experience might greatly differ depending on the water surface conditions (chop, surf, current, taste of water...)

I have not noticed a difference hitting the same swim spot AM vs PM or high vs low tide. Some say the high to low tide is bad since it lends to extra nasty rip currents, but if you're out there swimming a mile, rip currents aren't going to be an issue anyway. (Resist the urge to go "wheeee!" as is drags you out super fast!)
2013-06-24 10:13 PM
in reply to: ayabrea

User image

Expert
Marin County, California
I do 100% of my swim training in San Francisco bay so I pretty much get it all: cold, dark, tides, currents, swells etc. I swim when it works for me. I like it in the morning because its usually calmer. But the afternoon, especially when the tide is coming in and there's a little wind, well, that's when some sesriously good work can be done. Swim against the tide to 'work,' and with it to recover. Natures intervals.
2013-06-24 10:54 PM
in reply to: LittleCat

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Guam