General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Pre-race jitters Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-26 9:13 PM

User image

Utah
Subject: Pre-race jitters
I have been racing for three years, starting with running, and now into my second season of triathlon. I have always gotten giddy with excitement before races, but never nervous. But for the past two races (a sprint two weeks ago and now an Oly for this coming Saturday) I have gotten jitters, like nervous jitters. These are not even A races for me, just fun ones. What the heck? What gives? What do you guys do about them?

I am worried that if this is how I am feeling for these races, I might $h*t myself come my first 70.3 in August!

2013-06-26 9:58 PM
in reply to: KatieLimb

User image

New user
Green Bay
Subject: RE: Pre-race jitters
I've had the same issue lately in year 4. I think it's my own self imposed greater expectations. I fear not doing as well as last year. I think the jitters are good unless you freak out....
2013-06-27 9:05 AM

User image

Expert
Charlottesville, VA
I'm always nervous before a race, doesn't matter where or what it is.

At triathlons I like to get in the water before the start, swim out away from the crowd and float on my back, just breathing deeply. Always seems to relax me.

Ken
2013-06-27 11:06 AM
in reply to: wisconmd

User image

Expert
McAllen
Originally posted by wisconmd

I've had the same issue lately in year 4. I think it's my own self imposed greater expectations. I fear not doing as well as last year. I think the jitters are good unless you freak out....

Same here. Maybe your expectation is to have too much fun and you get nervous about linking your amount of fun to the performance you wanna do? =P You'll do awesome in the upcoming 70.3. There isn't any study that says amount of nervousness increases with distance for veterans so you got dis!
2013-06-27 11:39 AM
in reply to: odpaul7

User image

Pro
Bellingham, WA