General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Frustrated w/ swimming...can't seem to get my kick going ? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-28 5:10 PM

Subject: Frustrated w/ swimming...can't seem to get my kick going ?
I've been swimming w/ a local masters group for six months. While, I am much stronger in the water, I just can't seem to get my freestyle kick going. I kick fine on a kick board, but when I put my kick and stroke together, it falls apart. I think it's a rhythm issue. Does that make sense? I don't think I kick at the right time when I'm stroking....or maybe I am over thinking it. I generally just kick a little here and there, but not enough to help...probably slows me down. And, I think my breathing is part of the problem...seems my kick and strokes are fine until I breathe.
Any advice?

Gina

2013-06-28 9:39 PM
in reply to: GinaNC

User image

Cleveland OH
Subject: RE: Frustrated w/ swimming...can't seem to get my kick going ?
I have the same problem. I have heard that using a snorkel to figure your Stroke/kick out then work on your breathing.
Don't know if this works or not.

Finis makes a nice front facing snorkel to use. Looks like you can buy at most sporting good stores.
2013-06-28 10:31 PM
in reply to: #4791002

YouTube total immersion swimming if you haven't already. Really helped me just watching a recording of a seminar the guy did.
2013-06-28 11:23 PM
in reply to: Mtthwprc45

User image

is that the 'separating water molecules' guy? hahaha
2013-06-29 9:13 AM

User image

Champion
MA
Finding Freestyle swim program would help you. It is an online program that works on helping you find he ideal stroke for you. I did many kicking drills and thru program learned awareness what my feet were doing when kicking.
2013-06-29 11:03 AM
in reply to: #4791179