General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do you have a life outside of triathlon? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2013-07-04 4:18 AM

Subject: Do you have a life outside of triathlon?
All I seem to have time for is training, working, eating or preparing to eat and sleeping.

I have the weekend afternoons free but I usually spend this doing washing/cleaning or grocery shopping.

I literally don't have time in my week for anything else.

So.. Do you have a life outside of work and triathlon? Do you enjoy this lifestyle? Do you wish you did other things with your time?

2013-07-04 5:22 AM
in reply to: Flying Kiwi

User image

Regular
Aalborg, Denmark
Subject: RE: Do you have a life outside of triathlon?
Yes I do, but I am a student and therefore not bound to a normal 9 to 5 job.

I had to cut away some other hobbies to afford triathlon but I don't regret the choice. Things I do other than tri include playing in a band, reading and playing computer games. It's lucky that reading and gaming compliment recuperation so well.

I don't own a television and that frees up a lot of time. Triathlon does take up a lot of time and mental energy though, but it's fun and immensely satisfying.
2013-07-04 5:24 AM

User image

Pro
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Yes. I try to keep things balanced. I attend my son's sports events, spend time with my wife, friends, and family, and spend time coaching. In the end, I don't spend enough time training to race to my potential, but for me, maintaining balance in life is more important.
2013-07-04 5:57 AM

User image

I think that's why a significant population of triathletes are older. Once the kids are gone, a big chunk of time is freed up. Also, you generally have more money and triathlons can be an expensive sport. I do have a life outside of triathlons but I probably don't train as long as some others. Triathlons add to my life. They don't control it.
2013-07-04 6:11 AM
in reply to: TriMyBest

User image

Pro