General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Total newbie here! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-05 7:58 AM

Subject: Total newbie here!
Hi everyone!

I'm completely new to this website and to this sport, or should I say.. any sport !
I live in Austria and last week did a fun run for women for cancer awareness... only 5k but I loved it! I hadn't trained really apart from my usual bike riding to work and occasional swim. Anyhow I picked up a flyer for an "aquathon" in 2 weeks time - It's part of a larger triathlon weekend... but it's perfect for a beginner to get a taste - only 200m swim and 2.5k run, women only
I'm a bit nervous but I think I'm going to give it a go...
Training is a bit hard as I'm a single mum with a 5 year old... she can't swim yet so if we go swimming somewhere I always have to stay near her...

I've never done anything remotely like this before so feel a bit like a fish out of water
Also I'm 41 so no spring chicken anymore ;-)

Any tips would be welcome... one question I have is what to wear? I don't want to fork out lots of money on wetsuits and tri suits for such a short event...
Was planning on just wearing a swimming costume for the 200m (water temp is about 20-21 deg) and then should I change into something to run or for 2.5 km could I run in my swimsuit ??
I haven't got a clue about these things

Nice to meet you all!

Regards
Isabel

2013-07-05 8:11 AM
in reply to: trevy32

User image

Subject: RE: Total newbie here!
Originally posted by trevy32

Hi everyone!

I'm completely new to this website and to this sport, or should I say.. any sport !