General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wheel Confusion Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-14 3:16 PM

User image

OKC
Subject: Wheel Confusion
I have read some of the past wheel question threads but still have a question. I want to buy a wheel set.... why? Not because I need it yet but because the hobby does strange things to your mind and you just think you need more

My question is about hilly/windy races and which wheels. I am wanting to stay under $1,800 and have been looking at zipp 60's, Flo's, and HED. I have a Cannondale Slice 105. I am 5'7" and 153lbs (need to get down to 146). Half of my races seem to be flat and windy and the other are hilly and windy.

I am very new to triathlon as I have just completed my first Sprint yesterday and Have a HIM at the end of September. Is there pros or cons to a certain set in hilly and windy conditions? If I understand correctly areo wheels are really better for flatter races... correct?

2013-07-14 5:58 PM
in reply to: clrv

Subject: RE: Wheel Confusion
Get a wheel cover for your rear wheels. This will only cost you around $100. A rear wheel cover/disc are actually better for improving bike stability. You are going to be better off finding a used pair of wheels for far less than spending $1800.00. If you are new to triathlons, then avoid purchasing he race wheels with carbon brake tracks as these newer models are likely going to be wider than your stock wheels. This means you are going to have fiddle with the width of the brakes and replace the brake pads every time you insert those carbon brake track race wheels.
2013-07-18 9:00 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Originally posted by clrv

I have read some of the past wheel question threads but still have a question. I want to buy a wheel set.... why? Not because I need it yet but because the hobby does strange things to your mind and you just think you need more