General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Midfoot stike and sore calves Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-22 9:07 PM

User image

Veteran
Tucson
Subject: Midfoot stike and sore calves
I have been working on my running form for several months as I am very injury prone. I am working with a guy who is a triathlon coach and does form analysis for all 3 sports. So I am landing more midfoot now instead of heel striking and my calves just don't want to get with the program. After taking two weeks off for a knee issue, I started back running yesterday. My plan is to run 1 mile a day for six days this week. Well today is day 2 and my calves freaking hurt! This is supposed to be easy mileage. I did calf strength training during my time off to help keep them strong but it didn't help. Anyone else have this much trouble when changing their running form?

2013-07-22 9:13 PM
in reply to: desertchica

User image

Veteran
Queen Creek, AZ
Subject: RE: Midfoot stike and sore calves
I had the same problem. I "re"started myself in running with new shoes (Newtons) and would only run 1 mile a day or 1 mile out of whatever run I had planned with the Newtons and that form. I S L O W L Y ramped my mileage up with the form and the shoes. It took me about 2 months of getting used to it.

Did you change shoes as well?

I don't know how old you are, but with age, the Achilles tightens up and the calves follow. I foam roll the $h)t out of my calves every night, whether I think they need them or not. I also do concentric (I think that's the right word) calf stretches where I drop my heel for at least 3 minutes to get a good healthy stretch. I do that as much as I can when I can.

Keep working at it. Ice works too. You could try compression sleeves or socks. I've had some luck with those as well.

I think the foam rolling and stretching has helped me the most. I'm pretty conscious of it and throughout the day I will stretch my calves.
2013-07-22 9:14 PM

User image

Master