General Discussion Iron Distance Race Groups » SavageMan Triathlon 70.0 : Official Thread Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-08-04 8:39 AM

User image

Veteran
South Windsor, CT
Subject: SavageMan Triathlon 70.0 : Official Thread
OK, I've committed to doing this race. I'm looking forward to the many challenges of the event. Since there are a dozen people signed up for this race and I'm a rookie to the venue, how about some insight?

I've watched several videos about the 'Wall' and think conserving energy prior to the attempt is going to be key. It is a 'race' however, and I don't want to dog it too much.
It seems that taking a line on the right during the final ascent over the cobblestones offers the least bad road. I will likely try to power up that section (at 3mph-ha). I would imagine there is some luck involved, as anyone can stall in front of you and take you out.

Looking at the climbs is daunting...

I already have a compact crank on both my bikes but I'm trying to decide on 12/25 or 11/28 for gearing. I have pretty much decided on the road bike (Masi), not the tribike (P2). My bike handling skills are likely not up to the descents and I was even on the brakes a bit at IMLP in '12 going down Keene. I used the 11/28 for Placid and never felt like I ran out of gears but these look to be much steeper and I think I'm talking myself into the 11/28.

Let's get this started!

2013-08-04 3:05 PM
in reply to: dtoce

User image

Regular
Subject: RE: SavageMan Triathlon 70.0 : Official Thread