Other Resources The Political Joe » Your state government Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-06 3:47 PM

User image

Elite
Boise
Subject: Your state government
Do you feel like your state government "listens" to it's constituents? It feels like to me, even here in small governemnt Idaho that more and more, even the state government is bought and paid for.

2013-08-06 4:00 PM
in reply to: JoshR

User image

Subject: RE: Your state government
Yup. Matter of fact I've been voting for 20 years and last year is the FIRST time I had a state legislator knock on my door and talk to me about what I wanted done by the state.

Unfortunately a smaller part of the state that is very loud believes just because no one's listening to them, that the state government is "ignoring the people" and kowtowing to special interest groups.

I have no idea if that's what happening in ID but it's what is happening here.

2013-08-06 4:50 PM
in reply to: DanielG

User image

Elite
Boise
It seems to me that every few weeks another story is posted about a state contract being given to some friend of a state official. This week we had a statewide wireless contract to install wireless internet around the state school districts and a local contractor had the lower price but someone out of TN won it because they have ties to the state Secretary of Education. I feel like this kind of thing happens fairly frequently.
2013-08-06 5:03 PM

User image

Elite
Boise
I forgot to mention this is the same Secretary of Education who got elected and immediately comes out with this awful plan to reformt he schools and forced it through the legislature. After a year, the voters of Idaho overwhelmingly rejected all 3 measures, to which he replied he'd find another way.
2013-08-06 5:21 PM

User image

Expert
Boise, Idaho
Hey, I know THAT guy.  Wasn't he "allegedly?"  The primary Education advisor to Gov. Mitt aka "Mittens" Romney. 
2013-08-06 5:39 PM
in reply to: jeffnboise

User image

Elite