General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Upcoming First Triathlon! Help! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-09 1:28 PM

User image

New user
Subject: Upcoming First Triathlon! Help!
Hello,

My name is Zach (15 years old) and I have signed up for my first triathlon in two weeks time. I am physically prepared for most of the triathlon. I am a club swimmer that swims everyday for two hours, averaging 3-4 miles a day. After those practices I run home, which is roughly eight miles. I bike and lift weights every other day to help achieve a better fitness as well. But I am still very new to this sport. I am quite lost at what I need for race day and how to perform correct transitions. The only gear that I have right now is a bike, goggles, shoes, shorts, shirt, sunglasses...... but I don't know what to wear for the swim and pretty much the everything. Another thing that I need help understanding is "spotting" during the swim. I just need some basic information on what I need to know to perform my best on race day I need all the help I can get, so that is why I came here.

-Thank you

Zach

2013-08-09 1:49 PM
in reply to: TheNewBlood

User image

Subject: RE: Upcoming First Triathlon! Help!
I don't see a helmet on the list. You cannot race with out a helmet.

I just did my first tri. Trying to figure out what to wear was so overwhelming. There is so much information, yet at the same time, there doesn't seem to be exactly the information that you are looking for. Then I figured it out. Simplify. Just find something you can do all three legs of the race in. It really doesn't matter what as long as you are comfortable in it. Practice exercising in it. I wore trishorts, and since I am a woman, a sports bra to swim in. I threw on a bike jersey in T1.