General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training burnout? Overtrained? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-17 9:25 AM

User image

Utah
Subject: Training burnout? Overtrained?
I am a teacher who had my entire summer off to train. I put in long hours all summer training (15-18 hours a week), in anticipation for a HIM in one week, the LOTOJA bike relay the first part of September, and a full marathon the first of October. After one particularly brutal week that included a nasty bike fall, it was all I could do to do even the easiest of work outs the week after, my energy was GONE and I felt really lethargic and fatigued! I took a few days off to listen to my body, but even when I got my energy back and felt physically better, I still can't mentally bring myself to train. I have done some sessions that have gone well, but they haven't been near the volume or intensity as I was doing up to that point and I have to force myself to do so.

I have my first HIM in a week, that I have been very excited about and still am. I am basically considering the last couple of weeks a taper. I have still done some SBR, but not what I would have liked. Is this me being burned out? Did I overtrain to hit the initial slump? How would you move forward? I am confindent that even with the last couple of weeks that I can get through the HIM. Since this is my first, I have no expectations other than to finish, which I am confident I can do. How do you avoid this in the future?

2013-08-17 11:31 AM
in reply to: KatieLimb

User image

Master
Charlotte
Subject: RE: Training burnout? Overtrained?
It is common to be tired during your taper, in fact it is normal. Your body is tired and now that you are giving it a little break, it want's more time off. Just get though the taper, don't worry about energy levels, you will be fine come race day.