General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » First tri yesterday, learning experience Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-19 6:59 AM

User image

Subject: First tri yesterday, learning experience
Hi everyone,

After lurking for a while, and after completing my first super-sprint triathlon yesterday, I decided to come out of the shadow and say hello. I'm a 38 year old female, I live in the Netherlands. I'm fairly new to swimming, biking and running as sports (i.e. never practiced when in my younger years) so I've pretty much started from 0 when I begun on my training journey shortly after my gastric bypass surgery in October 2012. I made giant leaps in terms of fitness, but there's still a lot to achieve... considering I finished dead last out of 50 participants yesterday

The coming year, I want to focus on learning to swim properly (I lost so much time and energy in the swim!) and increase my fitness level. Hopefully I'll be able to complete a sprint triathlon next summer, and not finish last

Pleased to meet you all

2013-08-19 7:52 AM
in reply to: avsie2013

User image

, Kronobergs lan
Subject: RE: First tri yesterday, learning experience
Hi! I am new too (joined yesterday) of similar age (43) and new to triathlon too! Just started training for my first sprint distance tri next year.

Congratulations on your first tri! Out of interest, what time did you do as a beginner?
2013-08-19 9:30 AM
in reply to: Rollergirl

User image

I finished my super-sprint in 59:33, which is very slow. The distances were 250m/10km/2.5km.

The swimming killed me. I can swim, but I can't swim fast nor 'well'. I knew this, so it wasn't surprising, but every other girl competing were several levels above me and it was a hard reality check! (I did swim during the winter, but not enough obviously and I really need to learn the technique properly.) I managed to catch up and pass 3 girls on the bike, but then they all passed me again on the run