General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How does winter training differ from summer? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-08-22 12:18 PM
in reply to: yazmaster

Subject: RE: How does winter training differ from summer?
Oh almost forgot -

You have to really consider how often you get sick in the winter.

One of the biggest limiters for me training/racing in the winter is the inevitable 1-2 colds I get that knock me down from 1-3 weeks completely. Totally wrecks training/racing and it's the main reason I have no longer decided to plan any "A" races in the late fall through early spring, despite favorable temps for PRs.

2013-08-22 1:08 PM

, Alabama
Thanks for all the replies. i have winter gear for running and cycling as I started training in February / March this year when it is pretty cold here. My first 5K in March was in the snow :-). i actually have a couple of 10k races coming up at the end of September and early October so may look for a few more to keep me motivated. I will take the advice given and work on my running which is my weakness but try not to lose in the other areas. So roughly the same schedule but extra run a week and I wont sweat it too much if I miss a work out due to family, illness of whatever. Cheers.
2013-08-22 1:24 PM

User image

Expert
Ontario Canada
For me My training Volume tends to actually increase, I spend More time on the Bike over the winter, with spin class and sufferfest workouts then I do during the nice weather when outside chores also become a bit of a hinderance to training, I do more Core work and I hit the pool a bit more my run volume stays about the same, Its a rare day when ICE or Extreme Cold force a stint on the TM, for the most part I train right thru from Oct to Late DEC then take a slow down over the holidays and then ramp back up early Jan thru to March then I take another slow rest period before tri season gets underway.
2013-08-22 1:32 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Regular
Wisconsin