Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Career fork in the road question for COJ Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-23 12:55 PM

User image

Master
San Antone, Texas
Subject: Career fork in the road question for COJ
I posted this on the 'other site' too but I'd like to see what the COJ has to say. So here goes:

OK, I'm at a fork in the road in my career (civil engineering field) and want to know "WWCOJD?

Here is the scenario that has unfolded over the past 2 months:

1. I've been working on the same contract for one client for the past 6 years (consulting services), which is the length of time I've been with this firm.
2. The contract I have been working on ended 2 months ago. The project was complete, and there was no more funding available from the client for our services.
3. I was told from my supervisor that the company would keep me on overhead for about a month or so while they were waiting the award of other contracts that I could work on. But that I should also start looking for other employment in case those contracts don't get awarded to the firm.
4. During that month's time, I apply for several other positions at various engineering firms. I get an offer from one at about the same rate I currently make. No other contracts were awarded to my company, and there were no other existing contracts that needed additional help. The leadership of my business unit kept on telling me that I was the type of person they needed to keep in the company, and they would hate to let me go, but there was nothing they could do if I wasn't billable.