General Discussion Triathlon Talk » GPS Units Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-09-02 7:04 AM

User image

Veteran
Newcastle, England
Subject: GPS Units

Hi

I'm new to Ultra's and I'm currently looking at GPS units that will allow me to upload a planned training route and then allow me to follow it

Something bigger than a watch tho 

Any recommendations?

Cheers 

Will

2013-09-02 8:02 AM
in reply to: WildWill

User image

Maryland
Subject: RE: GPS Units
Hi Will, I plan most of my long runs on new territory on line www.mapmyrun.com (i'm not sure how goo the map coverage is for your location, but it is very detailed in my area.) I then track my actual performance with my garmin 310XT. I'm not familiar with something that would perform like a gps route planner similar to what i have in my car. I'm not sure that i would even want a voice in my earpiece telling me "at the next corner turn left.". I suppose if I was 15 mile out and something went wrong it would me nice to have a shortcut home. But, I typically carry my phone with me in such cases, so I have a couple of mapping back-ups if needed. I mention all of this technology, but really, much of the attraction for running long is just to grt away.
2013-09-03 7:50 AM
in reply to: runamarathon

User image

Extreme Veteran
Lenexa, KS
I use a Garmin Oregon unit for tracking my routes. If I'm in a new area, I'll usually plan the route on either Map My Run or some other online program and save it to the unit. Sometimes I'm able to find some sample routes as well if in a really new area that I can transfer to the GPS from those sights as a gpx file.