World Triathlon Corporation
90F / 32C
Sunny
Total Time = 14h 54m 26s
Overall Rank = 1785/2600
Age Group = F30-34
Age Group Rank = 68/98
Pre-race routine:

I find these race reports valuable. Here's hoping that this helps someone else achieve their Ironman goal.

I had heard good things about Don Fink’s Be Iron Fit training plan. It was 30 weeks in length and offered three different levels of commitment: Just Finish, Intermediate, and Competitive. The time involved grew with each plan. I studied the plans, read reviews, and finally decided to do what most other people do – start with the competitive, and if it becomes too much, drop down to the intermediate.

I set the alarm for 4:15 am, ate some oatmeal, put on sunscreen, my tri-top and bikini bottoms. Dad drove me the mile down to the transition area so I could put air in my tires, fill up my water bottles, and drop off food in my bike bag. Afterwards it was another 0.8 mile walk to the start of the swim. When I got to the swim start it was another 0.5 mile walk to the back of the line. Once I arrived, I sat down and waited for the start. In the 90 minutes I had to wait, I ate a bagel with peanut butter, half a banana, and half a bottle of Gatorade.
Swim
  • 1h 19m 55s
  • 3800 meters
  • 02m 06s / 100 meters
Comments:

The swim takes place in the 'pristine' waters of the Ohio River. It is a time trial start – meaning that athletes enter the water like lemmings falling off a cliff instead of a mass deep water start. We heard the cannon go off at 6:50 am for the pro-athlete start, and then again at 7:00 am for our start. After that the line started moving really quickly, basically a slow jog once we got close. I made it to the dock around 7:15, held my nose, looked to make sure I wasn’t going to jump on anyone, and splashed in.