General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon swim team workouts Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-09-03 2:51 PM

User image

Subject: Triathlon swim team workouts
I am coach of a masters swim team that trains mostly triathletes. I've been competing in open water swims for 25 years and have coached swimming for over 20. I started this team a few years to cater to triathletes interested in getting better at distance freestyle and open water swimmers competing in marathon swims.

A couple months ago, I started to post all the workouts we do on the team. Anyone is welcome to follow at no charge and I am happy to answer any questions about swimming, open water swimming, training, etc...

http://magnoliamasters.com/swim-efficiency/

Best regards,

Tim Floyd
Head Coach Magnolia Masters

2013-09-03 3:02 PM
in reply to: snappingt

User image

Expert
San Luis Obispo, CA
Subject: RE: Triathlon swim team workouts

Bookmarked!!!!

Thanks Tim!

2013-09-03 3:16 PM

User image

NC
Awesome stuff.

2013-09-03 4:03 PM
in reply to: Goosedog

User image

Master
Salt Lake City
Nice. Bookmarked. Like the easy to print workout sheets.
2013-09-04 2:56 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Kobenhavns Kommune
Great idea for your swimmers to put the workouts up for future reference and inspiration.

I checked a few workouts. Your warm up is pretty consistently:

Swim w. fins
Kick w. fins
Pull

IMHO:

- you should not use swimming aids such as fins or paddles in the warm up, swimmers are not warm yet.
- you should not do kick or pull in the warm up as the "other half" of the body doesn't work out and cool down easily.
- warm up is too long, often 1/3 of the total workout is warmup, you even have a program where more than half was warmup.

I suggest:

- you keep warm up to about 10 minutes for a 60 min. workout
- encourage swimmers to practice all styles

For example:

200 free - as in freedom to choose your style