General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Improving my running speed Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2013-09-06 3:52 PM

User image

Subject: Improving my running speed
I've been running for 3 months and have seen a lot of improvement. I went from having to stop and walk after 5 minutes to being able to run 5k at about 8 min/mile. Of course, I was slower than that on raceday, running off of the bike (8min 40sec/mile).

I just finished my first Sprint Sunday and would like to focus my run workouts on improving my speed to see if I can get faster by my next Sprint in 6 weeks. I'm going to do bike-to-run bricks after each bike workout, but just brief 1/2 mile cool downs. I run 2x/week. One short session b/w 20 and 25 minutes. One longer session b/w 35 and 45 minutes. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

2013-09-06 3:58 PM
in reply to: PsyTri

User image

Master
ann arbor, michigan
Subject: RE: Improving my running speed
Let me be the first of hundreds to suggest that you run more. Two run sessions/week is 3 to 5 too few. Run almost every day. Most of the time at conversational pace. It may not make you that much faster in six weeks but in the long term it will yield pretty amazing results. Your running eight minute miles on just your current run training suggests you have potential. Now go out and run a lot more and see where it gets you.

I will leave it to others to flesh out the details.

Google BarryP run plan if you want to get started on some 'book' learning.
2013-09-06 4:19 PM
in reply to: wannabefaster

User image

x2 to what Jason said.

Lots of easy running will benefit most runners.  It's sort of a mental road block that beginners think that running slow/easy will make them slower and that running fast will make them faster.