General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Best triathlon watch that doubles as an everyday watch Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-09-11 6:50 PM

User image

Regular
Evansville, Indiana
Subject: Best triathlon watch that doubles as an everyday watch
Hey everyone I was wanting your opinions on what watch I should get. I'm looking for a watch that I can wear everyday but have it also double as my triathlon watch. It would be great if it had several useful features but I realize that it having GPS is probably out of the question seeing as the battery life would be an issue.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated!

2013-09-11 7:00 PM
in reply to: fubar44

User image

Expert
Apex, NC
Subject: RE: Best triathlon watch that doubles as an everyday watch
I've been using the same Timex Ironman 30-lap watch for like the last 10 years. Not too fashionable, but never have to change watches
2013-09-11 7:01 PM

User image

Timex Ironman watch usually works well.

If you want GPS, then just swap watches when you train.  Not that hard considering we usually need to change almost all our clothing everytime we want to S/B/R. 

2013-09-11 7:09 PM
in reply to: Jason N

User image

Delco, PA

Another vote for the Timex Ironman here.

I have the orange 50-lap one.  Does time, stopwatch (chrono), timer, two interval timers, and three alarms.

Stopwatch can store workouts up to 50 laps, and shows you your average time and best lap.  The alarms can be set to daily, weekdays, weekends, along with individual days you can choose.  Also only takes one push of a button to turn these set alarms on or off.

Not too expensive, either.  Less than $40 on Amazon depending on which one you get.

2013-09-11 7:55 PM

Veteran
I use the Suunto Ambit, It lasts all week with only 1 overnight charge. That includes using the gps for all my runs, about 6-8 hrs a week.
2013-09-11 8:24 PM

User image

Master
Tyler, TX
My daily watch is the Garmin FR70. Looks like a normal watch. Not too big.