General Discussion Triathlon Talk » ironman Wales 2014 are you in it? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-09-13 9:11 AM

User image

Subject: ironman Wales 2014 are you in it?
just signed up to my first Ironman ( and triathlon )!

I'm hoping for a 14h at the moment but will soon see the revised time as training gets underway.

anyone else joining the party?

Plaziescouse

2013-09-26 6:28 AM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: ironman Wales 2014 are you in it?
It's a fantastic place to have the race in Tenby and Pembrokeshire.

I finished IM Wales 3 weeks ago (also my first 'completed' triathlon...had a bike issue in the half IM I had planned before it)
I haven't made the decision to do it again yet but will definitely do it again in future.
It's a tough course but I managed to finish relativley unscathed so it's not impossible.
My background is as a marathoner, I knew how to swim too so my key limiter was the bike.
It's the kind of race that will expose any weaknesses and the bike course certainly spat me out.
I only had access to my bike at the weekends, I still did my progressions up to 7hrs but the
course definitely requires superior cycling fitness. Something I will need to work on for another go.

Finish time was 14hr48 with splits of 1hr18/8hr13/4hr43
My goal was to finish so must be pleased with that.

The swim course is considered one of the best and I agree. It was actually warmer in the water on the morning.
We were lucky with the sea conditions which were calm, so it was simply a case of riding the draft all around.

I took 22 mins in T1 due to the run in between coupled with a novices lack of changing experience. Something to work on.
I had not reccied the bike course and it had rained overnight so the first couple of hours were taken on the careful side.

The first 30 miles are nice, scenic and undulating with some modetate climbs.
Passing through Pembroke and some fast miles gives a false sense of security for the hills ahead.