General Discussion Triathlon Talk » just completed home grown full IM Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2013-09-16 5:16 PM

User image

Subject: just completed home grown full IM
Not having funds to allocate to an official ironman, and not knowing if I'd even be able to finish, my wife encouraged me to make my own routes, invite my friends to do parts with me, and she'd do the aid stations. I started training over a year ago, and I completed the event Saturday 9/14. It was my first IM...technically my first Tri, though I did a HIM at some point in my training.

Swim: 1:41:12
Bike: 7:56:20
Run: 4:49:47

x1 - 8:32
x2 - 7:03

I was going to post the results on the results section, but it's not a real event (though I did give it a name & race bibs :-).

Just thought I'd share.

2013-09-16 5:55 PM
in reply to: completelyhis

User image

Regular
Central Coast, CA
Subject: RE: just completed home grown full IM
Congratulations!
2013-09-16 5:56 PM

User image

Master
Redlands, CA
That's impressive doing one individually. Its much easier just to stop and quit when no one is watching. Great job!
2013-09-16 6:08 PM
in reply to: furiousferret

User image

Originally posted by furiousferret

That's impressive doing one individually. Its much easier just to stop and quit when no one is watching. Great job!

I had someone with me the whole way...a student where I teach swam with me, while 4-6 friends were on the shore "cheering" (chatting and having coffee).

I did the bike with my best bud/training partner...we had cheering section of friends at x1 and at the ~50 mile point.

I did the run with a few friends & a student (who did the whole marathon), again, with a handful of cheerers/aid stations at several points along the way.