General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner swimmer - how to improve speed Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-09-16 8:48 PM

Subject: Beginner swimmer - how to improve speed
I'm new to triathlon and just did my first sprint in August. I live in upstate NY so no more open-water swimming for me this season, but I'm pool-training for triathlon season 2014.

I'm an OK swimmer, but quite slow, and trying to get faster. Part of it is just swimming more, but my time is severely limited, to not much upwards of a half-hour. My goal is to be able to swim a mile, or 1600m, in a half-hour. Currently, I can do 4/5ths of a mile, or almost 1300m, in a half hour.

I'm female and short (5" 1'), so 1. is this a feasible goal, and 2. what can I do to attain it?

I have good upper body strength. My swim technique is far from perfect, but not very obviously flawed, perhaps a weakish kick although I do not tend to sink at the hips and do body roll OK. I'll try to have a pro evaluate my swim for pointers as soon as I can get to it.

2013-09-16 9:53 PM
in reply to: #4857193

Corvallis, Oregon
Subject: RE: Beginner swimmer - how to improve speed
The biggest thing you can do is take improvement lessons with a coach looking at you and your technique, making suggestions as you go. Masters classes are also helpful.
2013-09-16 11:15 PM
in reply to: pteranodon

One on one coaching.

Try to get the coach to video you.

The best money you can ever spend on triathlon is not gear or nutrition or a better bike. It is professional coaching.
2013-09-17 4:16 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Kobenhavns Kommune
Originally posted by pteranodon

I'm an OK swimmer, but quite slow, and trying to get faster. Part of it is just swimming more, but my time is severely limited, to not much upwards of a half-hour. My goal is to be able to swim a mile, or 1600m, in a half-hour. Currently, I can do 4/5ths of a mile, or almost 1300m, in a half hour.