General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swimming and winter Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-10-01 4:38 PM

Subject: swimming and winter
i'm debating about swimming this winter. I'm new to triathlons i've just done a small traithlon indoors last year. The thing is i hate swimming with the cold. do most of you swim all winter in freezing minnesota??

2013-10-01 5:00 PM
in reply to: newbie1975

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member
Subject: RE: swimming and winter

Originally posted by newbie1975 i'm debating about swimming this winter. I'm new to triathlons i've just done a small traithlon indoors last year. The thing is i hate swimming with the cold. do most of you swim all winter in freezing minnesota??

Well, yeah but indoors of course.    I go to LA Fitness and fortunately they keep the pool a nice temp all winter so it's not too much effort to get in and out.  Although the hallway between the pool and locker room can be a bit drafty!

I regularly took long breaks over the winter and then start back swimming more seriously around April.    I can't recommend this for successful swimming, but it's enough to get by.  Although, I had built up a fair swimming base before I started doing that.  If you're new to swimming or have any dreams of improving in the swim, you'll have to keep at it.

2013-10-02 9:29 AM

User image

Originally posted by newbie1975 i'm debating about swimming this winter. I'm new to triathlons i've just done a small traithlon indoors last year. The thing is i hate swimming with the cold. do most of you swim all winter in freezing minnesota??

I plan on swimming all winter through.  I'm also pretty new to the Tri world.  Because of that, I've got a lot of improvements to make in my swim stroke and what better time to drill than winter?