Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-10-07 12:05 PM
in reply to: Trbilbao

User image

Alpharetta, Georgia
Bronze member
Subject: RE: running with dog

Love running with my BF's dog. She is a 2-year-old mutt of some sort (I think lab/shephard) but small, weighing in at only 30-35 pounds. We've gotten up to 2 miles so far, breaking her in slowly.

2013-10-07 12:16 PM
in reply to: mike761

User image

Extreme Veteran
Originally posted by mike761

Don't just take a puppy out and run, there bones are soft and you can do permanent damage to their joints. Most recommendation I have heard is very minimal running until they are about 1 1/2 years olds. Once you start running with your dog remember that they do not have shoes on, and they have to build up to longer distances just like we would. Keeping your dog on a leash while running is not difficult, but you have to train them to run with you.

I've been running with my dog for 4 years now, he is a mix between coonhound and lab. Yes he would like to sniff everything, but I do not allow that on runs. I only allow him to stop when he really needs too, it becomes obvious after a little while when they need to pee vs just wants to sniff.

Be careful in warm weather, remember dogs don't sweet to cool off. When temp is above 75 he won't go more than 3 to 4 miles. However in cool weather like 55 I've had him on 10-11 mile runs and I'm sure he would go further if I wanted to.

Work on the leash training, my dog always stays on my right while running. I use a 5ft leash with my left hand through the loop and hold the leash about half way in my right hand. So he has about 2-3ft of leash and trots perfectly right next to me 95% of the time. The other 5% of the time- well he still a dog!

I became a runner and I'm now an everyday runner almost solely because of my dog.