Other Resources The Political Joe » Healthcare.gov Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-10-10 6:34 AM

User image

Pro
Omaha, NE
Subject: Healthcare.gov

I work in IT so I've been pretty patient and understanding about Healthcare.gov having some issues.  However, as more and more comes out it's beginning to look a lot worse than just a few technical glitches.  I guess it's turning into yet another punch line of the government buying $1000 toilet seats.

I saw this article this morning and I love the comparison of costs to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram:

We paid $634 million for the Obamacare sites and all we got was this lousy 404

Given the complicated nature of federal contracts, it’s difficult to make a direct comparison between the cost to develop Healthcare.gov and the amount of money spent building private online businesses. But for the sake of putting the monstrous amount of money into perspective, here are a few figures to chew on: Facebook, which received its first investment in June 2004, operated for a full six years before surpassing the $600 million mark in June 2010. Twitter, created in 2006, managed to get by with only $360.17 million in total funding until a $400 million boost in 2011. Instagram ginned up just $57.5 million in funding before Facebook bought it for (a staggering) $1 billion last year. And LinkedIn and Spotify, meanwhile, have only raised, respectively, $200 million and $288 million.

The budget for this website was $93.7M dollars, and according to this article the actual costs are more than $637M.  That's 580% over budget.

I snicker when I recall the talking heads in support of the ACA talking about it being revenue neutral.  This makes me a little skeptical of that (ok a lot)

2013-10-10 9:05 AM
in reply to: tuwood

User image

Master
Sunny Southern Cal
Subject: RE: Healthcare.gov