General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Shin Pain - Diagnosis Needed Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-10-22 12:52 PM

User image

St Catharines, Ontario
Subject: Shin Pain - Diagnosis Needed
I have a pain in my left shin and I want to describe exactly where it is.

Its about 4 inches below my knee. I feel I can put my finger right on the source of the pain and when I do my finger is right on top of my shin bone.

I can run just fine including speed sessions. So far I have chosen to ice it and ignore it.

Shin splints are supposed to be aches. This feels like it is right on the bone and is more of a tightness.

Ideas?

Half marathon in 5 days. Should I stay off it?

2013-10-22 9:08 PM
in reply to: badmo77a

User image

Veteran
Tucson
Subject: RE: Shin Pain - Diagnosis Needed
I am no expert so I don't have great advice but this sounds like a tibial stress reaction. Is the spot small and only on one leg? I had what I thought was mild shin splints on my left shin for months. I ignored it and eventually it localized to a small area mid shin. I shut down my running as I had about one million other injuries at the time. This was the one I was not willing to mess with. Who wants to deal with a full on stress fracture? I don't know what advice I can give other than be careful. I am sorry you are dealing with this so close to a race.
2013-10-23 5:38 AM
in reply to: desertchica

User image

Expert
Tallahassee
I'm sorry it is so close to a race. I had shin slpints so bad i could hardly walk, much less run and posted below is what cured mine.

In order to run the race, really stretch the calves prior to the race. I would not run any more until race day and I would start icing 3 - 4 times every day. Get a foam roller and really work your calves good 3 - 4 times per day and get a deep tissue massage if you can in the next day or so.