General Discussion Triathlon Talk » NYC Tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-21 3:10 PM

User image

Woodstock, Illinois
Subject: NYC Tri
I entered the lottery for the NYC Tri figuring I had no chance and was shocked to find out that I got selected. It's my first time going to NYC and I'm looking for suggestions on where to stay and what to expect from the course.

2013-11-21 9:25 PM
in reply to: jcwise

User image

Regular
Ballston Spa
Subject: RE: NYC Tri
Wow, that's awesome.
2013-11-22 4:44 AM

User image

Long Island, NY
Originally posted by jcwise

I entered the lottery for the NYC Tri figuring I had no chance and was shocked to find out that I got selected. It's my first time going to NYC and I'm looking for suggestions on where to stay and what to expect from the course.

X2
2013-11-26 8:28 AM

User image

Master
New Jersey
not sure about hotels, but the course...

Crowds.

There are 2 groupings of "waves". Think it's like 90 minutes between first and last starters.
The early waves usually get REALLY fast current. The later waves only get fast current.
Water isn't as bad quality as people make it seem.

Bike route has some hills. There are spots you can fly. It's crowded though, especially since you're catching up to slower riders.
Steep short hill to start the bike...people seem to never expect this and they're in the wrong gears and are weaving.

The run starts with flat run to Central Park. Wide open. It's set up like they expect a billion runners/spectators, yet I've only seen it quite sparse.
The park is hilly.

The finish is nice...lots of cheering spectators.
But then you gotta walk back to get your transition stuff (or wait in line for a bike-taxi).

Overall, a fun race. But you gotta deal with crowds. It's NYC.
Pre-race meeting is mandatory and it's the day before, plus you gotta check your bike by the evening, so you're doing a lot of walking to get everywhere.