General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Bike or New Wheels? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-12-11 1:59 PM

Subject: New Bike or New Wheels?
Hi all, I believe this is the first time I have posted on the forum (first time in years at least).

I have been doing tri's since 2003, and have had virtually the same equipment set up the entire time (2003 Giant OCR1 Road Bike with clip-on aero bars, stock wheels).

I'm in the mood to upgrade... something. I don't know if I have the budget to invest in a new bike AND race wheels, so I wanted to get the opinion of the masses: if this was an "either/or" thing, is it better to get a set of race wheels for my current bike? Or go with a tri specific bike (like a Felt B12/B16 for example) and the stock wheels it comes with? Or some reasonable combination of the two?

I do bike with a group about half the time that frowns on tri bikes in a pack, so I might opt to keep the OCR1 just to bike with them. But all other training would be on the new bike IF that's the wiser choice.

I'm doing the Steelhead 70.3 in 2014 (this will be my 3rd HIM) and then various other tris.

Also, I'll add that I would fit into the "Clydesdale" weight class... if that would influence one's advice.

Thanks in advance!

2013-12-11 4:32 PM
in reply to: DorkRocketKirk

User image

Inglewood
Subject: RE: New Bike or New Wheels?
I'd definitely go with a new tri bike over wheels. Wheels over the course of an Olympic race may save you a few minutes time, but the switch to a tri bike will save you time on the bike and also save your legs on the run (assuming you are professionally fitted). I'm not a super fast cyclist, but the only bikes that pass me during sprints thru Ironman races are tri bikes. As for wheels, you can always get a wheel cover for your rear training wheel (about $100).
2013-12-12 5:48 AM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire