General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Done a 250m ocean swim now 500m help please Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-12-13 2:34 AM

Veteran
Subject: Done a 250m ocean swim now 500m help please
Hi there

I am new to the sport and taking small steps to my long term goal of IM - I can swim in the pool ok (learnt 12 months ago ) and can swim 1-2k ok.
I have now done 2 x 250 meter mini ocean swim "races" 1st one I struggled 2nd much better but not completely comfortable , I have also had a pecan lesson where I swam 500 meters ( with some stops)

But my question when are you ready for the next step ? up to in this case 500meters I look out at the ocean and think wow that seems far but it's only a 'bit' further , is it a case of just doing it ? Go for it , surely the 250 swim will nevr be perfecto

Any tips on growing swim race distnace and help on taking the next step would be cool - thanks , should I spend more time in the pool building strength ? How many times a week etc

2013-12-13 12:34 PM
in reply to: Bigdave001

User image

Expert
Wendell, NC
Subject: RE: Done a 250m ocean swim now 500m help please
If you can do 2k in the pool, you should physically be able to do 2k in the ocean. It's all mental. It's amazing what you can get used to but you have to do it to get used to it. It the water's bumpy, just roll further for your breaths, sometimes you'll have to breath away from the waves. Keep pushing your comfort level bit by bit and you'll soon be happy to jump into the big blue and knock out a mile or two. Advice, swim in open water as much as you can.
2013-12-13 12:59 PM
in reply to: La Tortuga

User image

Chicago, IL