General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Want to do my 1st Ironman Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-12-18 11:03 AM

Subject: Want to do my 1st Ironman
I am a newbie to world or Triathlons. I got my first sprint this past year after I dropped 65 lbs cycling and running from January to August. Now I want train for my first ever Ironman in Louisville in August.

My background is I was a college swimmer and am a college swimming coach. That portion I know, but the training for cycling, for running and the planning in general is completely foreign to me. I need a much help as possible with this. My training time is limited because as college coach, during the school year, I'm committed 12-13 hours a day with my job and I'm a husband and a father.

I'm looking to any suggestions, ideas, coaching, etc as possible.

Thank you

2013-12-18 11:52 AM
in reply to: Emskelly3

User image

Extreme Veteran
Maryland
Subject: RE: Want to do my 1st Ironman

Why the rush to ironman?

2013-12-18 2:34 PM

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
what are your goals ? just to finish ?

what time slots do you plan on having to train ?

sprints for beginners are simple, the training is minimal and the effects of the race is not traumatic.
Ironman OTOH is a massive whap in the butt. IMO if you don't have a good plan up front, don't think about it until you do.
2013-12-18 4:16 PM

User image

Pearland,Tx
Originally posted by Emskelly3

" My background is I was a college swimmer and am a college swimming coach".

Lucky Guy!!
2013-12-18 4:41 PM
in reply to: dmiller5

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cypress, TX

Originally posted by dmiller5

Why the rush to ironman?

x2

2013-12-18 5:17 PM
in reply to: #4915068

I've done a lot of open water racing and I've run 10k's over the years. It fell off about 6 years ago and I got into cycling recently to try something new.