General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Average Swim Time and other swim confusion Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2013-12-20 8:27 AM

User image

Subject: Average Swim Time and other swim confusion
Hi all,

Being that I am new to the whole triathlon thing, I am confused about.. almost everything. I just picked up swimming 3 months ago. Before taking a form clinic I could get from point a to point b, but it was not at all graceful. Now, when I am in the pool, I look like a real swimmer! At the YMCA where I train I seem like a real speed demon, but that is likely because it is mostly old folks that swim laps. So, here is the first question... what is an average swim time, say for 50m? I time myself regularly and it seems that with real effort it takes about 1 minute. That seems terribly slow.

The first question sort of segues into the next question. Does anyone else only have one setting? Regardless of whether I am trying to go fast or slow, that is generally the same pace. It seems that I only have one pace. I try really hard to slow down, but ultimately end up around the same pace as if I were racing against the clock. What's that about?

Last thing. Does anyone else find that the transition from shallow to deep end is a real mind f***? Something about visual change in depth really messes with me and causes me to sometimes feel out of sorts. This is especially bad when the lanes are set up to go from 6 to 13 rather than 3 to 6. Am I just crazy?

Help me not be a horrible swimmer.

2013-12-20 8:56 AM
in reply to: thegiantess

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Average Swim Time and other swim confusion

For a triathlon swimmer, you can be confident that you are just about exactly at the average. It sounds like you need to get more comfortable in the water, but a pace of 2:00/100 is right at average. 

2013-12-20 9:06 AM

User image

Regular
St. Joseph, MI