Other Resources The Political Joe » Government waste Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-10 1:01 PM

User image

Elite
Boise
Subject: Government waste
http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2014-01-10/292-million-down-drain-whi...

I was reading this article and then I got to thinking. How is this company allowed to do this? I work in the bid field myself. If I say I'm going to provide something, I have to do it. If I don't, I don't get paid and I can even end up owing money for not providing the correct item. How do these contractors get away with it? How is that they aren't required to repay the $292m back to the government?

Edit: What I'm getting at, is literally HOW. Isn't there a law or something that says you have to provide the product?

Edited by JoshR 2014-01-10 1:02 PM

2014-01-10 1:46 PM
in reply to: JoshR

User image

Subject: RE: Government waste

Not a lawyer here but I believe the argument could be made that they did provide a product?  It didn't work as expected or proposed but that would be a different lawsuit.  The bigger question would be why was that co given the no bid contract based on its history.  I have no idea other then what I have read including the article you linked.

The important thing is I can clearly understand how you could get frustrated with something like this and comparing it to what transpires in your life.  Just remember to disregard all aspects of reality when you look at things the government does.  They certainly seem to. 

2014-01-10 2:23 PM
in reply to: Goggles Pizzano

User image

Elite
Boise
Originally posted by Goggles Pizzano

Not a lawyer here but I believe the argument could be made that they did provide a product?  It didn't work as expected or proposed but that would be a different lawsuit.  The bigger question would be why was that co given the no bid contract based on its history.  I have no idea other then what I have read including the article you linked.