General Discussion Triathlon Talk » West Michigan Swim Coach Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-11 10:46 AM

User image

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Subject: West Michigan Swim Coach
Hello all-

I am new to BT and to triathlon as a whole (this year will be my first). I am participating in Wannabefaster's mentor group and he mentioned taht there were some knowledgeable people here on the Michigan thread.

My situation is this, I have no swim background to speak of and am looking at getting some lessons. I have contacted the downtown GR YMCA regarding my age, background, and goals and inquiring about some private swim lessons. It has been a challenge to get return phone calls and scheduling has been a problem so far.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a triathlon focused swim coach in the GR area that they would recommend?

Thank you for any thoughts.

2014-01-12 11:02 PM
in reply to: 43YORook

User image

Regular
Jenison, MI
Subject: RE: West Michigan Swim Coach
While it hasn't been finalized yet, it looks like I am going to be coaching the swimming portion of a triathlon class at the Grandville YMCA. I believe it is going to start in March or April (they haven't yet decided if it is going to be 1 or 2 sessions). The ultimate goal is for participants to ramp in to the Jenison triathlon in mid May. The Y is limited to 2 hours per week for their programs, so there will be one group cycle class and one swim session each week. I should be clear, though, that the swimming portion is not necessarily a "learn to swim" focus, but more intended for those who can swim a little bit but need to improve to get through their first triathlon.