General Discussion Triathlon Talk » My First Tri in June Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-02-19 7:29 PM

Subject: My First Tri in June
Hello Everyone. I talked myself into doing a Sprint Tri in June. I started training on my own a few weeks ago. I'm former Military and not in the best shape so I've been creating my own plan based on my fitness level from 15 years ago. Lol. I found this page on FB and thought it would give me the structure, encouragement, and motivation I need. If you have any advice for a newbie please sent it my way. Feeling super excited and nervous.

2014-02-19 7:50 PM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: My First Tri in June
It's a 750m swim 20km ride 5km run?

I suppose you need to tailor your training according to which disciplines you are most weak in. I’m a swimmer, so when I started doing sprint tris I didn’t need to do any swim training, but you get beginners who can barely swim 500m in a pool. Suddenly they have to do a 750 swim, in the ocean with 200 other competitors and they really struggle.

Edited by zedzded 2014-02-19 7:58 PM
2014-02-20 1:34 PM
in reply to: angewinte

User image

Master
Bolivia, NC

I agree, the first thing to do is make sure that you are proficient in the swim.  You can alternate your swim training with run and bike training.  Most newbies who struggle do so in the swim.

2014-02-20 1:56 PM
in reply to: blynott

User image

Is it open water? I found my biggest problem for my first open water swim was sighting. If you can get out and practice sighting it would help greatly and keep you from swimming off course and ended up doing 900 meters instead of 750.
2014-02-20 2:56 PM

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
which sprint tri ? Tri Latta or Enka perhaps ?

what are your goals ?
2014-02-20 4:41 PM
in reply to: sirdizzy

Originally posted by sirdizzy