General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wet suits for the fuller gentleman. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-25 5:26 AM

, Noord-Holland
Subject: Wet suits for the fuller gentleman.
Hi All,
I am looking to purchase my first wet suit.

I am an absolute beginner to open water swimming and the benefits of a wet suit - warmth ,buoyancy - are attractive to me.

My issue is that I am 1.67m (5ft 6in) and 79kg (174lbs), which is not ideal wet suit height/weight ratio.

All the wet suit manufactures I have checked do not have a suit for my height/weight and I am not sure what to do - apart from lose around 6kg (13lbs).

I am losing weight, but I need a suit sooner rather than later.

Any help, advice would be appreciated.

Best regards,
OS57

2014-03-25 8:25 PM
in reply to: oldSpice57

User image

Veteran
Illinois
Subject: RE: Wet suits for the fuller gentleman.
Wet suit sizing can be very subjective, and if you haven't worn one before, it's easy to think it fits wrong. If you fall outside the normal proportions, it's even more problematic, and since it seems you're in Europe, there's another level of complication.

If you haven't already, try calling or emailing them directly with your situation and measurements, for suggestions. Sizing charts are very subjective. Or find a company with a good return policy and roll the dice.

A local shop is probably your best bet, at least initially, if available. You'll pay a bit more, but for piece of mind it's probably worth it.
2014-03-30 10:00 PM
in reply to: oldSpice57

Subject: RE: Wet suits for the fuller gentleman.
Originally posted by oldSpice57

Hi All,
I am looking to purchase my first wet suit.

I am an absolute beginner to open water swimming and the benefits of a wet suit - warmth ,buoyancy - are attractive to me.

My issue is that I am 1.67m (5ft 6in) and 79kg (174lbs), which is not ideal wet suit height/weight ratio.