Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-04-04 10:56 AM
in reply to: MOlsen

User image

Extreme Veteran
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Subject: RE: Running more than 20mpw?
I exercise because I feel better when I work out on a regular basis than when I do not. I have been running on average of 30 mpw for the past seven years, so I guess that I am doomed.

How does this study compare to non runners that sit on the couch with a beer and a cigarette watching the TV?

2014-04-04 10:59 AM
in reply to: MOlsen

User image

Expert
Madison, Wisconsin
Originally posted by MOlsen

Originally posted by Left Brain

I have never once exercised with the idea that it would make me live longer.  I exercise to live better.

That's pretty much what I was getting ready to say. My goal is to keep moving under my own power and not be in a scooter.

I life ended at 50 full of activity and adventure is better then a life at 80 filled with moderation and a sense of unfullfilment

Moderation bores me
2014-04-04 11:56 AM
in reply to: zedzded

User image

Veteran
North Carolina Foothills
Originally posted by zedzded

I think for me, the global warming crisis has resulted in destroying any credibility, the phrase "Scientific Study" ever had. I used to hear the phrase get bandied around and perhaps naively I would assume as it was a scientific study, that equated to fact... I've read completely contrasting and contradictory articles written by highly educated and experienced scientists who studied the same courses at the same universities - the difference being who they worked for and what their employers agenda was. So now when I see an article that mentions "Scientific Study" I flip the page or close the browser. So sorry TURIN2, didn't get past the 2nd line

^^^^ Couldn't agree more .. especially since the link to the article is from a completely unbiased and reputable "news" organization (loud laughter here) like CNN.