General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello I am new at triathlons at would like to learn more Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-12-07 6:23 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Hello I am new at triathlons at would like to learn more
Hello my name is Carlos Corredor, and I am with the US Army. I'm 40 years old. All my life I am usually a very active person when it comes to sports, however I have a terrible attitude about running. I can swim and I can bike without no problem but when it comes to runnung I dread every bit. Everything hurts after running. I run because the military tells me to other than that, I would probably dind an alternative.

Research however has shown that running burns more calories than any other sport. It is great for eliminating that middle line of mine. So my intention is to combine all three of these events, because I want to feel healthy again as well as gaining a good attitude about running. So if you any tips on triathlon and running for a Newbie I would appreciate it.

Respectfully

Carlos

2003-12-08 6:37 AM
in reply to: #2369

User image

Expert
Rockledge, Fl
Subject: RE: Hello I am new at triathlons at would like to learn more
I know exactly how you feel Carlos! I would have rather workout or play racquetball for 2 hours than run 2 miles before this year. Once you start getting your cardio fitness up, the running will get easier and even enjoyable. I now love to run. The key is to start slow and take walk breaks when starting. Consider buying Jeff Galloways' book on running. That got me started and made a big difference. I ran more than 2 miles for the first time in my life in May of this year and just ran a half marathon Thanksgiving weekend. If I can do it, anyone can. Just takse it slow.
2003-12-08 7:40 AM
in reply to: #2387

User image

New user