General Discussion Triathlon Talk » nutrition on bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-08 5:58 PM

New user

Katy, TX
Subject: nutrition on bike
I have my first HIM (PrairieMan) coming up in about a month so I've been trying out different things during my long rides.  My question is...how do you know what you ingest on the bike is not going to effect you on the run?  The obvious answer would be to make it a brick and do a short run afterwards, but how far should I run?  1 mile, 3?  What do you think?

2006-08-08 9:19 PM
in reply to: #505935

User image

Veteran
Denver, CO
Subject: RE: nutrition on bike
I am no expert but have been told that I should give my muscles a full 20 minutes to transition from bike to run. So keep that in mind when doing even a shorter brick.

As far as nutrition goes, its all personal. Get out there and see what works for you. However, for me, the GI issues I had set in on the bike and then continued on the run for almost the entire race. It was a disaster, but I made it to the finish line nonetheless. Anyways, I would say that you would know pretty soon after ingesting your food/gel/gu/drink that it is upsetting to your stomach.

That's my .02... I'm sure there are plenty of others experiences that differ, and/or can give you more concrete examples. Best advice? Test it yourself. Good luck on your race!

2006-08-09 1:25 PM

New user

Katy, TX
I rode 50 miles this morning and used a combination of Perpetuem, Cliff Blocks, water, and endurolytes throughout my ride. I didn't have any problems on the bike, but as soon as I got off I felt like I was STARVING! Does this mean I need to take in more calories or should I try solid food? I know I don't want to start running on an empty stomach!
2006-08-09 2:05 PM
in reply to: #506817

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA